The Quakes

The San Jose Earthquakes

The San Jose Earthquakes are a United States team which plays in the Major League Soccer league.  They are the owners of two MLS Cups, two Supporters’ Shields, two Golden Boot awards (both via Chris Wondolowski), and numerous other honors.


1974– The Quakes have their inaugural season in the North American Soccer League (NASL).  They get their name via a contest held by the San Jose Mercury News, in which General Manager Dick Berg chose it from among numerous entries.  The name is in relation to the San Andreas Fault, which is within close proximity to San Jose and is responsible for most earthquakes in the region, including the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake and the 1989 Loma Prieta Earthquake.

1984– The NASL folds and the Earthquakes join the Western Soccer League (WSL).

1988– The team folds, and what is leftover becomes the San Francisco Bay Blackhawks, which played in the WSL.  Some future Quakes players like John Doyle, Troy Dayak, and Eric Wynalda are part of this team.

1993– The team is back for one season as the San Jose Hawks in the United Soccer Leagues.

1996– Dan Van Voorhis successfully leads a bid for the San Jose Clash to be part of the inaugural season of Major League Soccer.  The Quakes play and win the very first MLS game at home against D.C. United on April 6.  The USL owned the rights to the team-name San Jose Earthquakes.

1999– The Clash are renamed the San Jose Earthquakes.

2001– The Earthquakes win their first MLS Cup, beating rival L.A. Galaxy 2-1.

2003– The Earthquakes win their second MLS Cup, beating Chicago Fire 4-2.  In the first playoff round, the Quakes beat the L.A. Galaxy 5-4 after going down 0-4 on aggregate scoring, the greatest comeback in league history.

2005– The Earthquakes win their first Supporters’ Shield.

2006– The Earthquakes move to Houston and the win the MLS Cup twice in a row in 2006 and 2007, leaving many Quakes fans bitter.

2008– The Earthquakes begin as an expansion team, but retain the honors they had accumulated in the league as MLS Cup and Supporter’s Shield champions.

2012– The Earthquakes win their second Supporters’ Shield.

2015– The Earthquakes finish construction on their own stadium and new home: Avaya Stadium.

Team Honors

MLS Cup: – 2001, 2003

Supporters’ Shield – 2005, 2012

Western Conference Champions: – 2003, 2005, 2012

Player/Individual Honors

MLS MVP: Chris Wondolowski – 2012

MLS Golden Boot: – Chris Wondolowski – 2010 (18 goals) & 2012 (27 goals, tying the league record)

Goalkeeper of the Year: – Joe Cannon – 2002, Pat Onstad – 2003 & 2005,

Defender of the Year: – John Doyle – 1996, Jeff Agoos – 2001,

Goal of the Year: – Eric Wynalda – 1996 (vs. D.C. United on April 6), Dwayne de Rosario – 2004 (vs. D.C. United on August 2) and 2005 (vs. L.A. Galaxy on October 15)

Comeback Player of the Year: – Troy Dayak – 2001, Brian Ching – 2004, Bobby Convey – 2010

Coach of the Year: – Frank Yallop – 2001 & 2012, Dominic Kinnear 2005


Copyright 2015-2018; This site is not affliated in any way with the San Jose Earthquakes management or ownership.